(Father)

I could never escape the shadow of my father.

The Greatest. The Best.

How would I measure up? How could I measure up to the perfection of a legend?

I deserted the haven of my father to strike out on my into the world. The illusion was broken. I couldn’t live under his flawed dominion any longer.

So I left. But I could never escape.

He lived in every shadow, watched from every pinnacle, hovered over my soul with the kind of incidental and abstract care of duty.

Far away was never far enough.

I kept to my own corner, stayed in my world and made this space my home. And yet, they couldn’t see me. They only saw him.

Son of my father. They could never see beyond his mask and cowl imprinted in my features.

The greatest. The best…

My phone rang, shrill, in the night. I crouched on my perch and gaze at the city. Not my city, no, none of it would ever be mine.

I accepted the call. Bluetooth picked up the familiar rasp and echo of the distant streets, the creak of gloves, and the flap of cloth in the wind. A gruff,voice speaks.

“Nightwing, come in!”

 

 

Postword: A fun article I found while hunting for pics-http://www.fortressofsolitude.co.za/2016/06/batman-as-a-father/

Published by

opalflame

I am artist, analyst, author, poet, composer, musician to name a few aspects of myself. A bit of a jack of trades, I dabble into many fields that encourage the blossom of imagination and allow me to channel my creativity. I dream vividly and view the world through the lens of optimism and opportunity while acknowledging the ink and shadows.

You've lent me your ears... now borrow mine:

