Letting Go

Like ripping apart
The wedding veil
After…

Gossamer tendrils
Clinging to my
Fingertips…

Ashes and soot
Beneath my tear-streaked
Eyes…

How could you
Betray me and us so
Fast…

Threading my heart
Through thorns of
Pain…

Cherish and love
The afterbirth of
Us…

Hacked into pieces
Our wedding rings
Glimmer…

United in false strength
For I was a
Fool…

Fissure of weakness
Corrupt the imagined
Unity…

Deal with the absence
Empty pillow talks end in
Silence…

Our weaknesses exposed
The ugly underbelly of
Love…

Cold sheets, winter blankets
In those ways we just
Deal…

In the cusp of your words
My spine is a chopping
Block…

A series of photos
Bridge the distance between
Us…

We burned our ties
And my wedding dress to
Ashes…

Now we are separate
Now we are perfect
Strangers…

We blew away all
Our chances on threads of
Doubt…

Death and decay
And now distance are the
Wedge…

Emotions are dangerous
A poisonous
Concoction…

I wish I could say
That I’m an ice
Queen…

That I don’t cry
Or bleed or even
Shriek…

As we snip this final
Umbilical chord called
Us…

That voice whispers of
Sorrow and “I’m
Sorry”…

The clock screams too
Late and I am
Lost…

I was never meant
To be found in this
Way…

Perfect mural, perfect gone
Confessions to my alleged
Deformity…

I am reborn prospects
I am broken pieces
Missing…

Published by

opalflame

I am artist, analyst, author, poet, composer, musician to name a few aspects of myself. A bit of a jack of trades, I dabble into many fields that encourage the blossom of imagination and allow me to channel my creativity. I dream vividly and view the world through the lens of optimism and opportunity while acknowledging the ink and shadows.

You've lent me your ears... now borrow mine:

