Why You and Not Me?

 

dd0ddad935e8d659929591c107d26cd2

Your eyes
Stare.
Accusingly at me from the other side
Of the world, angry at the accident of
Birth
That places you there.

The sadness
There.
Masks the anger simmering in the
Depths of those black pupils
Huge
In the thin face.

You ask
Why?
As the heavy plate is carried
Past, the waiter struggles to balance the
Mountain
Of food to my table.

Now compare
Empty.
Bowls in front of you licked clean
Of rice, now the cupboard is
Bare
There is no food.

Your eyes
Glare.
Defiantly as the famine, the enemy
Approaches to exchange life and growth for
Death
To steal what life remains.

I sigh
Wearily.
As I toss the plate of food into the
Maw of the garbage, it was a five course
Meal,
I take the food and throw it away.

I just
Glance.
At the poster with the pitiful you snapped
For a cause, ‘Feed the hungry children’ it
Begs
Twinge of guilt I feel.

But then I
Turn.
And go to the door, dismissing the pain
In your eyes, I think it’s too late
Now,
You are already dead.

Published by

opalflame

I am artist, analyst, author, poet, composer, musician to name a few aspects of myself. A bit of a jack of trades, I dabble into many fields that encourage the blossom of imagination and allow me to channel my creativity. I dream vividly and view the world through the lens of optimism and opportunity while acknowledging the ink and shadows.

You've lent me your ears... now borrow mine:

