Coffee 11#: Respect

imprint-868979_640Trifecta

Respect isn’t given, it is earned.

I wish I wasn’t on a regimen right now. I’d slam some back.

But I can’t, and I am.

So, drink your coffee, and keep the ceramics away from me. If I hold anything right now, it will fracture and explode in my hands. Rage can give me inordinate strength. No point destroying beauty in a moment of passion.

So, no, no coffee or tea for me, thanks.

 

As you drink your coffee right now, I’d pontificate about the situation…

Like an onion, they have layers.

I must be cryptic, I’m afraid…

I’d rather see the whole picture and be unhappy than be blind and happy. Ignorance isn’t bliss, it’s dangerous.

And, boy, did I just get a great set of glasses recently.

When the sweet life ain’t that sweet, what cool-aid do you drink? I quit drinking the cool-aid.

I do not want to be deceived. I will not be deceived. Lies… I don’t like them at all. I don’t like being lied to.

Suffice to say that I’ve climbed out of a cloud of deception. A cloud I’d been engulfed in for six months without even noticing. And now that I’m out, I wonder how much of an idiot I’ve been for not seeing it all along.

 

As you drink your coffee right now, I’d share that the roller-coaster has left the station

With all great revelations, comes great whiplash.
And I just want to find the sky again.
Is it too much to ask?
To have a compass,
And a light?

I refuse to drown in suffering and silence. I refuse to give you the power to shove me down and make me feel insignificant. I absolutely REFUSE to let you take power from me. EVER. AGAIN.

Actions speak louder than words. Sounds like I have some words to demonstrate.

Right now.


 

Oh, little boy.
When will you ever learn?
You don’t ask for respect
You demand it.
In every way
At every time
With every breath
By simply being.


 


You’re probably staring at your coffee
, wondering what the fuck I’m talking about. But, hey, it’s not like I know myself.

Sadly, I’ve simply relearned a valuable lesson about the world. The innocent get taken advantage of (innocence is a detriment). Severely. The faster you can lose the innocent, doe-eyed look, the better off you’ll be.

 

Do drink your coffee, love. I’ll recover next morn, and catalog this emotion and file under “Assertive”, subindex “Respect”.

Respect. Isn’t what all the rappers and reggie-toners sing about?

I’m not a mat. I refuse to be trodden.

You aren’t either. So don’t make my mistake, don’t let anyone take that power from you. Don’t ask -demand respect. You embody it. You earned it.

Don’t let anyone fucking take it away from you!

Sigh…

More coffee, love?

Published by

opalflame

I am artist, analyst, author, poet, composer, musician to name a few aspects of myself. A bit of a jack of trades, I dabble into many fields that encourage the blossom of imagination and allow me to channel my creativity. I dream vividly and view the world through the lens of optimism and opportunity while acknowledging the ink and shadows.

You've lent me your ears... now borrow mine:

