Day 10: Farewell

flag-958343_1920

“Goodbye may seem forever/Farewell is like the end/ But in my heart’s a memory/ And there, you’ll always be” ~ Fox and the Hound (Disney movie)  Goodbye May Seem Forever


You said you’d always be there for me,
That you’d come when I called
Comfort me when I cried.

You promised that you’d never leave,
Swore we’d be here, together till
The end.

I never thought that your nobility
Would separate us, that the very
Traits that created virtue would

Take you from me now.
WHY?!  When I need you?
This world is cold and empty, without you!!

All I have left, is the echo
Of your voice on the breeze,
Empty arms, and a flag clutched in my hands.

The screams of ravens
Mimic the wrench of my soul
While I wrap my arms around my middle.

My heart squeezes through unyielding fingers
Clenching tightly on muscle and sinew
Blinking constantly, a smile swimming in tears.


Writing 101 – Daily Poem course. Day 10 of 10

Published by

opalflame

I am artist, analyst, author, poet, composer, musician to name a few aspects of myself. A bit of a jack of trades, I dabble into many fields that encourage the blossom of imagination and allow me to channel my creativity. I dream vividly and view the world through the lens of optimism and opportunity while acknowledging the ink and shadows.

4 thoughts on “Day 10: Farewell”

  1. A well penned poem. I can feel the emptiness of the writer in the words ‘This world is cold and empty without you.’ And in ‘All I have left is the echo of your voice in the breeze.’ Thanks for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

You've lent me your ears... now borrow mine:

