Day 6: Fallacy

lips-780169_1920Inspired by Title IX

Fallacy – a mistaken belief, especially one based on unsound argument. A failure in reasoning that renders an argument invalid.


Hey, check him out,
Look at him,
The way he dress,
He flaunt
He wants
Some of this.

Did you see those jeans
So tight
So right
Just like
A little sl*t
He’s asking for some of this.

And he keeps coming around,
Like he tryin’ to impress
BE somebody
Fancy
Tell me
To respect all of this.

But do you see the way he acts?
Always ghetto
Pasted
Wasted
So not chast -and
Keeps giving away all of this.

Nah, I don’t think I respect him
That shirt,
Open so low
You know
I’m sold
He definitely wants some of this.

You know, when I get to corner him
Tonight, I’ll laugh when he
Says no
“Just go
Stop hoe”
Not like you listened when I told you,

I wanted none of that.
So reap what you sow
And pay as you go
Learn that women too
Don’t “dress like they want it”
Aren’t subtly asking for it.

So don’t laugh when you trap her.
And don’t you dare tell her,
“It’s a fact girl
That shirt
Those jeans
You were asking for it.”

Because she wasn’t.

No means no. Silence and stillness does not indicate consent. Only yes means yes.

Writing 101 - Daily Poem course. Day 6 of 10
Coming soon: Day 7: Beloved
Published by

opalflame

I am artist, analyst, author, poet, composer, musician to name a few aspects of myself. A bit of a jack of trades, I dabble into many fields that encourage the blossom of imagination and allow me to channel my creativity. I dream vividly and view the world through the lens of optimism and opportunity while acknowledging the ink and shadows.

7 thoughts on “Day 6: Fallacy”

    1. So true! After all the news stories about female victimization, at universities especially, I am always shocked to see the same theme repeated (and I’m fed up!). Thank you for reading, Dreamer of Dreams. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you gigglingfattie. I’ve been so fed up with how many times I’ve heard of women victimization because of how they dress, or whatever. And after reviewing Title 9 yesterday, I had a lot of emotion spilling into the writing of this poem. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      Liked by 1 person

You've lent me your ears... now borrow mine:

