Day 4: Seconds

clock-878483_1920.jpg

“Don’t even try, you’re wasting time” ~ Red Wasting Time


Weight of pressure, failure a
Scythe scrapping his throat, crippling
The scribbles on his page, he
Resists the urge to scream.
How is it that despite all the
Pages of notes, hours of revision,
In this moment
Memory squeezes through like
Reluctant toothpaste?
The clock ticks away loudly, a countdown to
Eminent execution, Pen frozen in hand he
Fights the urge to scream even
As the test is yanked away.

The ice of dread chatters teeth, the sweat
Trickles down his neck, he only
Wanted the time back, a few
Moments to spare;
He wanted to tell her that, she
Was the one and only,
He should have kept her
Precious, forsaking all others.
If only he hadn’t been so
Clumsy, she wouldn’t have
Felt the need to pawn her wedding ring
For a gun.

JUST.
WAIT!
DAMN YOU!
I needed you so badly right now,
Why did you leave me
Right when I needed you most?
CRUEL,
I HATE YOU!!
YOU SAID YOU’D BE ON TIME
Not FIVE MINUTES EARLY.
How am I supposed to
GET TO WORK NOW
When the next bus comes
IN AN HOUR?

Please.
Just.
Please…
I want to
See my child.
Hug my wife,
Caress my baby,
Write one more phrase
Say one more word,
I… have so much
Left undone,
Just-
Please, I need
Just one more second
Before I
Expire-

Writing 101 - Daily Poem course. Day 4 of 10
Click here for Day 5: Freedom
Published by

opalflame

I am artist, analyst, author, poet, composer, musician to name a few aspects of myself. A bit of a jack of trades, I dabble into many fields that encourage the blossom of imagination and allow me to channel my creativity. I dream vividly and view the world through the lens of optimism and opportunity while acknowledging the ink and shadows.

7 thoughts on “Day 4: Seconds”

  1. Pingback: Day 3: Sleep |

You've lent me your ears... now borrow mine:

