Day 2: Reflection

6c31d9d0ce0b9292cddd284d20cccb4d
Source: http://www.uky.edu

I thought that this time
I would see myself
For who I really am.

Wooden backing
In my mirror, like friends
Whispering flattery.

Too many ripples in the ocean
To see my face; I rely on the
Kindness of strangers.

They say I’m good,
I’m beautiful, I’m the
Shining light in the darkness.

Don’t lie to me, I know
My insides better than my out
I don’t need a mirror in there

To see that all is not paradise.
It’s eels and chains; monsters
In cages. You think that this

Control means I’m uncaring
And distant, that my silence means
That I’m cold?

It’s only restraining fire that will consume you
Decimate your world to ash
In a single instant.

It’s only chaining a cruel monster,
Waiting to unleash chaos
On the world.

Don’t be fooled by the exterior
No matter how innocent it might seem;
Beautiful predator captures

Prey. Pray that today
Remains safe enough for tomorrow
To come. Pray that the

Chains remain, and don’t slip;
Hope that my loved ones stay
Safe. Because in that dreadful day

All of this can change in an instant,
This angel will just as easily become
An avenger without mercy.

So, tell me what my outsides look like,
I’ll stare down into the river
Acheron and Styxx

And hold my palms down
To the surface, to keep the surface
Wavy, to keep the darkness inside.

“The Shadow. Don’t we all have one? Mine is often trying to free itself from the shadow world where it resides… Sometimes I wonder, if the beast is really, just the unspoken silenced parts of me that wish to share some ancient wisdom…” ~The Beast by Francesco1969

 

Writing 101 - Daily Poem course. Day 2 of 10
Click here for Day 3 of 10
Published by

opalflame

I am artist, analyst, author, poet, composer, musician to name a few aspects of myself. A bit of a jack of trades, I dabble into many fields that encourage the blossom of imagination and allow me to channel my creativity. I dream vividly and view the world through the lens of optimism and opportunity while acknowledging the ink and shadows.

4 thoughts on “Day 2: Reflection”

  1. Pingback: Day 1: Magic |

You've lent me your ears... now borrow mine:

