Writing #7: Twitter Inspired Response

Silence

I can relate, first of all, to effectively working in silence. My best work and most efficient work is conducted when I am given tasks, direction, parameters and the space to complete the task.

I don’t need a lot of praise to do my best. I don’t need recognition for what I do. It is enough to know that I did it, even if I’m the only one who will ever know. Let someone else have the applause, the lime light, the stage. Give me the tranquility to be effective, the space to produce, and the tools to achieve and succeed at my task.

Work hard

In the course of my life, I have worked for a variety of people, in a variety of positions, on a -you guessed it- variety of tasks. I have been exposed to numerous supervisory styles, and now that I am in the role of a supervisor for the first time, this has made me hyper aware of my own supervisory style that I’m developing.

The most amusing are those who like to do nothing and make a lot of noise. Conversely, I admire people who quietly produce enormous amounts of work, like magicians. Close your eyes, call out five projects, open your eyes and walla, five completed tasks.

That’s magic.

Work smart, work hard, and work quietly.

Success

I define success as completing a task above and beyond what may have been expected. Giving that extra: Extra time, extra care, extra dedication.

Completion, and as close to perfect as reasonably possible.

So, silence is a good thing, unless you don’t know what you’re doing. Then break the silence. It doesn’t do you any good if you don’t know what you’re doing and you never ask and you never get to complete the task successfully.

Knowing when to break the silence is just as important as wisely keeping silent.

Published by

opalflame

I am artist, analyst, author, poet, composer, musician to name a few aspects of myself. A bit of a jack of trades, I dabble into many fields that encourage the blossom of imagination and allow me to channel my creativity. I dream vividly and view the world through the lens of optimism and opportunity while acknowledging the ink and shadows.

You've lent me your ears... now borrow mine:

