Dr. So-and-So, I really want to meet you!

***When contacting Professors for grad school be like::
……………………………………………………………………………………………………
“Dear Dr. [Full Name],
 
My name is [Your Full Name] and I am interested in attending [University] to study [field, sub-field, topic of interest]. Based on your research and publications, I identified you as a close match to my own interests in [field, sub-field]. After reading the works of [Dr. 1, Dr. 2,] and you as well as your coauthored publications on [topic], I was very intrigued by your analysis of [topic].
 
I was wondering if I could meet with you and dialogue further regarding our common interests in [field] and [topic]. I can see from your class schedule that you are on campus on [Date/times]. I am also free on those days and am available to meet at your convenience. I also noticed that your office is [# feet] away from the classroom. If you are busy this week, I would be happy to wait outside of your classroom door and help you carry your books back to your office while engaging in brief dialogue.
 
I will also be camping outside all 3 of your on-campus offices on the off chance you have a couple moments of spare time within your busy schedule.
 
Otherwise, please let me know what time/date fits within your availability. I am very eager to hear your response. If you are available to meet right now, just open your office door. I am waiting right outside, with my ear pressed against the door, waiting for you let me in. If you are pressed for time and cannot reply or get up from your chair, I am also watching via the campus security’s video-feed. Just wave when you have a free minute.
 
I am very interested to meet with you and am available in person or via Skype, Linkedin, and various other messaging platforms to hear your response!!!
 
Thank you for your time and assistance,
[Your name]”
……………………………………………………………………………………………………
In all seriousness (yes, I was joking above, don’t actually do/sound like that!!!), contacting professors for grad school is a lot of work, but well worth it in the long run. Also, no need to come off as a stalker. It may be funny, but we want to connect with professors, not terrify them.
Published by

opalflame

I am artist, analyst, author, poet, composer, musician to name a few aspects of myself. A bit of a jack of trades, I dabble into many fields that encourage the blossom of imagination and allow me to channel my creativity. I dream vividly and view the world through the lens of optimism and opportunity while acknowledging the ink and shadows.

You've lent me your ears... now borrow mine:

