When Honor trumps Loyalty

Life is too short,
A ship with no port;
And I’m too tall a man
To stand next to you, silent and complacent.

I see beauty in your eyes,
Yet that same beauty disguise
Your darkness;
Life’s too short and the night is too dark.

24 hours in a day to make them count,
24 chances a demon to route;
I gave you a day to throw it away
But my honor remains sullied and stained.

Your temptation is palpable
Yet your tale is a parable,
All my love can’t seem to fill
The needle marks in your arms.

Tracks of time and tales of salvation,
Not an excuse for condemnation;
My words don’t seem to reach you
And I can’t die with you.

Life’s too short and I can’t stay,
Sadly I must be on my way,
I pray you find meaning and rescue
Before you burn alone.

Published by

opalflame

I am artist, analyst, author, poet, composer, musician to name a few aspects of myself. A bit of a jack of trades, I dabble into many fields that encourage the blossom of imagination and allow me to channel my creativity. I dream vividly and view the world through the lens of optimism and opportunity while acknowledging the ink and shadows.

You've lent me your ears... now borrow mine:

